Aside

Image

A dog has no use for fancy cars, big homes, or designer clothes. A water log stick will do just fine. A dog doesn’t care if you are rich or poor, clever or dull, smart or dumb. Give him your heart and he’ll give you his. How many people can you say that about? How many people can make you feel rare and pure and special? How many people can make you feel extraordinary? – Marley and Me

No matter how troublesome your dog is but when he leaves you for good, you are left with much more than just a sinking feeling……….isn’t it soul shattering? It is terrible to lose someone special because the days you felt desolate and alone; nobody but your dog came running to you and giving you the wettest, sloppiest kiss.

This write up is dedicated to my dogs- Tracy (male, German Shepherd), Duchess (female, Doberman), Jeanie (female, crossbreed), Sweetie (female, German Shepherd), Duke (male, Labrador mixed with some other breed) and finally Bruno (American Spits). They all were the most beautiful ‘people’I came across and none of them is anymore. But we do have the latest addition, his name is Crafty (He is Satanic but very affectionate and playful).

I remember Duke came running to me, he jumped on me and gave me the wettest, sloppiest kisses when I was crying at 12:00 am. Duke was a very aggressive dog, he was someone to be feared for he was famous for his biting- he hardly barked. Nobody loved him, he was the poor misunderstood dog who had loads of warmth and love to share. He is still misunderstood but I could always see in his two watery eyes, the message he wanted to share.

” You can be beaten ( and you know the moment when you are) but never ever be broken.” 

Sweetie was a big burly, hairy Shepherd. Don’t go by her description, she was a saint, an angel and a good mother to Duke and Bruno (although she wasn’t their biological mother). Her death came as a shock, totally unexpected- she ate something poisonous. She left behind something, her obedience, discipline and above all her compassion, touched me.

” In the end, it’s your warmth and grace that will make a difference.” 

This dog was crazy for his bone, he was cute as hell and conceited about his looks. Kids adored him, he looked like a toy puppy and with his expressions he could get anything. I loved this petite canine, no matter he was adjudged as conceited, boring mutt. Whenever I felt like playing and teasing somebody, I could always count on Bruno.

“Happiness comes in small packets”

Though, I wasn’t very close to Jeanie but she was certainly funny, a little aggressive. Once she was cat- walking on the the balcony railing and fell down. She was saved by a tree but I never knew her as a dog befriending cats. Another time, she pissed on the vet when he gave her an injection. She was wild, crazy one hell of a dog but lovely.

“The truth is you don’t know what is going to happen tomorrow. Life is a crazy ride, and nothing is guaranteed.”

She was the Duchess of the dogs world….she was the gentlest princess and beautiful Doberman. She was shy and snuggly snuggly types. Although she was part and parcel of the family before I was born so I don’t remember much about her except that she gave birth to a litter and she got annoyed while playing with my brother, so she jumped on delicate me (that time) and I started howling. Poor thing we siblings scared her but after five minutes she forgot everything and started playing again and this time I joined too.

“Being gentle and shy doesn’t mean you are not strong….it means you are stronger.”

Image

He was the legendary dog….king of the kings. He listened to nobody, was destructive and everybody’s favourite and especially children hailed him as their savior. For example, he wouldn’t let mummy or anybody scold me or my siblings or any kids. He always wanted water from the fridge, he knew where cold water comes from. He rejected each and every biscuit, only the creme ones he loved. So we didn’t give him biscuits. Tracy knew what day is the Sunday, he always got a treat on Sunday. Tracy even knew the days when vet would come and he had great hiding places. He played with my toy dog – a battery operated toy which somersaulted and barked. I dare not touch my toy when Tracy played with him. How unfair!!! He broke almost everything at house but he was legendary.

“As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.”

Image

Crafty

A lot of life from dogs

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

